The West Virginia Optimist


rain rain on my face.
June 15, 2008, 12:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Back in 2004 when I lived in Richmond, we had an enormous flood in the Shockoe Bottom area . I was lucky enough to live in an apartment at higher elevation. I’m not going to try to sound like I was a victim of that flood, because frankly, I wasn’t. However, I did get to see it first hand…absolutely horrific. I can’t imagine what people in Des Moines are going through right now.

….and then I see this. I hope this isn’t tacky, but this excites me. Yes, Obama filling sandbags is a photo-op, but it’s hard to deny the power of ground-up community action. If this gets one more person involved in the relief efforts or in their community, it’s all worth it.

It’s hard to say this without coming across as a bit trite, and I’ve never really felt comfortable saying it (because it sounds sort of cheesy) but he was the single deciding factor in me becoming involved in my community. After his speech on race in Philadelphia, I felt like I had to do something. I made contacts with a few organizations that I now lovingly volunteer with. Sure, I could always do more, but think about what would happen if more people did just a little.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good post.

I’ve said before, sometimes people just need a leader. Someone to provide inspiration. This guy does that for me like no one else has. Ever.

Comment by The Film Geek

Yeah, but it’s so much easier to just sit on your hands and complain than it is to actually go out and DO SOMETHING. This is why our elections turn out the way they do.

I hope Film Geek is right — I hope Obama can inspire people to do more. I think he can. I think our country really needs someone who can not only give hope back to the people, but to give patriotism back, too. We really need that right now!

Comment by rebecca




Leave a Reply

